Skip to main content

LIGHT,
GLUTEN- FREE
AND NEAR BEER

=

LIGHT

BEER

What is “light beer”?

Light beer is a popular beer style made by several breweries in Canada. Many beer drinkers prefer a lighter tasting beer or sometimes a light beer suits the occasion better, like grabbing drinks with friends after hockey practice.

The word ‘light’ generally refers to relatively low body and reduced calories, rather than the beer’s colour. However, Health Canada’s Food and Drug Regulations also define extra light beer and light beer according to alcohol content: from 1.1-2.5% alcohol by volume for extra light beer and 2.6-4.0% for light beer.

Making light beer is fundamentally the same as making regular beer but it can go beyond basic home brewing knowledge. During the brewing process, a technique is used called decoction mashing. This is a way to conduct multi step mashes without adding more water or applying heat to the mash tun. It is a process that suppresses enzymes, requiring time and attention. A brewer can then kiln the malt at a higher temperature and kill the malt’s enzymes to produce a lower calorie beer.

Adjuncts like maltose syrup, maize and rice can be added in the brewing process as an alternative source of carbohydrate to produce lighter beers and alter the flavour profile of the beer.

LOREM
IPSUM

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Phasellus fermentum elit id efficitur porta. Etiam imperdiet porttitor erat vel iaculis. Phasellus gravida ex et risus porttitor consequat a vel dolor. Pellentesque bibendum semper libero facilisis ullamcorper. Proin aliquam aliquet odio, vel porttitor nisi mollis nec

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetuer
adipiscing elit,
Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetuer
adipiscing elit,
Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetuer
adipiscing elit,
Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetuer
adipiscing elit,
Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetuer
adipiscing elit,
Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetuer
adipiscing elit,
Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetuer
adipiscing elit,

LOREM

IPSUM

What is “gluten-free beer”?

Barley, a key ingredient in beer, is not gluten-free and thus it is possible that many beers brewed from barley malt may contain some gluten-like component in low levels.

To produce beers that could be suited for celiacs and anyone suffering from gluten sensitivities and dietary restrictions, brewers turn to barley alternative grains like quinoa, sorghum, millet and buckwheat. Brewers can produce a wide variety of gluten-reduced styles from lagers to stouts, using these ingredients.

Health Canada handles beer and gluten-free claims in 2 ways

1 splitting beer made from grains containing gluten (1) and beer made from non-gluten containing grains (2).

1. Beer made from grains containing gluten

Includes: barley, wheat, oats, rye
It is the position of Health Canada that there is uncertainty around
the absolute removal of gluten from beer or beer-like products
made using barley, oats, rye, triticale, wheat or their hybridized
strains. For this reason, the Canadian Food Inspection Agency
objects to the use of a “gluten-free” claim on beers produced using
these grains.

However, they do not object to the use of the statement “This
product is fermented from grains containing gluten and [process or
treated or crafted] to remove gluten. The gluten content of this
product cannot be verified, and this product may contain gluten”.
In this case, breweries must be prepared to provide evidence to
substantiate their claim.

2. Beer made from non-gluten containing grains

Including: quinoa, sorghum, millet, buckwheat
Health Canada and the Canadian Food Inspection Agency do not
object to the use of a “gluten-free” claim on a beer-like product
derived from a non-gluten grain so long as it meets the
requirements outlined for “gluten-free” claims. This includes
ensuring there is no cross-contamination with gluten
during process.

As it stands, these products are not considered beer and are
labelled as an unstandardized “alcoholic beverage”.

Inquirers should always consult their doctor and/or the medical
community for advice.

LOREM
IPSUM

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Phasellus fermentum elit id efficitur porta. Etiam imperdiet porttitor erat vel iaculis. Phasellus gravida ex et risus porttitor consequat a vel dolor. Pellentesque bibendum semper libero facilisis ullamcorper. Proin aliquam aliquet odio, vel porttitor nisi mollis nec

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetuer
adipiscing elit,
Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetuer
adipiscing elit,
Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetuer
adipiscing elit,
Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetuer
adipiscing elit,
Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetuer
adipiscing elit,
Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetuer
adipiscing elit,
Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetuer
adipiscing elit,

LOREM

IPSUM

WE'D LOVE TO HEAR
FROM YOU!

We’d love to hear from you!

We welcome feedback, questions, and general inquiries that our readers and members would like to share. Fill out the contact form below and one of our team members will be in touch with you as soon as possible.